the Devil's Rejects
I didn't want to discuss this until I saw it a 2nd time, which I did last night. Now: I am one of the few who really liked House of 1000 Corpses. I didn't care for all of the MTV editing bullshit throughout the film, but everything else was from Rob Zombie's love for horror films. It seems that Zombie thought Corpses would be his last chance at making a movie, so he threw everything he loved about horror into the film: a horror host, a killer clown, Mansonesque rants, grainy super 8 footage, and on and on. Lord knows if I was given a shot to make a horror movie, I would completely vomit all of my resources, most by mistake. Well, I guess we can say Zombie took those resources and learned from them, and used Hollywood as a film school, which I rip roaringly applause--fuck them.
Alright, Rob Zombie loves 70's film; well, shit, he should; it's the greatest time in film. All the bad asses of the 50s and 60s were laying the rules down for the 70's boys to use, and they did. No one uses image as language anymore, but--let me tell you--Zombie did it in The Devil's Rejects. He sets up motifs of close ups and freeze frames that he uses when necessary (he's set a certain style in the picture). On a noticeable level, the style matches the scenes and parallels other scenes through technique. The film is thought out, and not just thrown up there with fancy editing tricks and montage. Now, before you pop a blood vessel in your asshole meter, there are a couple lines and scenes here and there that are just dumb ("I'm Willy Wonka and this is my Chocolate Factory"--stupid ass line, bubba), but overall the film has heart and it is well executed with film--not just horror--in mind.
Alright, Rob Zombie loves 70's film; well, shit, he should; it's the greatest time in film. All the bad asses of the 50s and 60s were laying the rules down for the 70's boys to use, and they did. No one uses image as language anymore, but--let me tell you--Zombie did it in The Devil's Rejects. He sets up motifs of close ups and freeze frames that he uses when necessary (he's set a certain style in the picture). On a noticeable level, the style matches the scenes and parallels other scenes through technique. The film is thought out, and not just thrown up there with fancy editing tricks and montage. Now, before you pop a blood vessel in your asshole meter, there are a couple lines and scenes here and there that are just dumb ("I'm Willy Wonka and this is my Chocolate Factory"--stupid ass line, bubba), but overall the film has heart and it is well executed with film--not just horror--in mind.


2 Comments:
i agree, think zombie toned down the technical flash of _house_ to bring to life the grittiness and dirt of those excellent 70s exploitation flicks that i love so much. tho i admit like zombie's first effort too. even the soundtrack to _devil's_ was pitch-perfect for the carnage onscreen. one hell of a flick and as i'd written on my blog a couple of weeks ago, _the devil's rejects_ is the best film i'd seen in a theater this year. understand the movie did poorly at the box office, but i sincerely hope that zombie will get financing for his next project, whatever that film tunrs out to be.
I like it Death good
Post a Comment
<< Home